The Legacy Fund honors 2019

At The Legacy Fund Honors, biennial event, The Legacy Fund of The Columbus Foundation has honored an individual, couple or organization whose contributions to the central Ohio LGBTQ community have enriched the lives of our residents and have served as a driving force behind the GLBTQ equal rights movement.

Scot Dewhirst: Leader, Advocate and Counselor

Attorney Scot Dewhirst has focused on representing LGBTQ clients since 1988, while also devoting his time, talents and treasure as a leader and advocate for the LGBTQ community in Central Ohio for his entire adult life.

A “founding father” of The Legacy Fund, Scot served on the Board for over 15 years, including multiple terms as Chair and Co-Chair. His clients established The Legacy Fund’s signature scholarship fund, the Howard T. Short and Burdette Augsburger Scholarship Fund, which has, to date, helped more than 34 college and graduate students finance their educations.

Scot’s gifts to the LGBTQ community over the years are legion:  Hosting the first Kaleidoscope Garden Party at his home in 1997; providing pro bono representation to Stonewall and to clients of the Columbus Aids Task Force; creating materials and programming to assist LGBTQ senior citizens and those with Alzheimer’s; public speeches to countless organizations on topics relating to the LGBTQ community; and much more.

In addition to his busy law practice as a founding partner of Artz, Dewhirst & Wheeler, LLP, Scot is a well-known mediation expert and respected law professor, as co-founder and co-director of the Center for Dispute Resolution at Capital University School of Law and as an Adjunct Professor of Law for over 30 years.

The Legacy Fund is thrilled to celebrate and thank Scot Dewhirst for his long history of dedicated service to Central Ohio’s LGBTQ community, helping to make lasting and positive change now and into the future. Truly an inspiring legacy.

Legacy Fund Honors 2019 Sponsors

We are extremely grateful for everyone’s generous sponsorship for The Legacy Fund Honors.

Platinum Sponsor

Karen Cookston - Ameriprise Financial Services, Inc.

Gold sponsor

Equitas Health

Silver sponsor

Sandy Anderson & Lynn Readey

Artz, Dewhirst & Wheeler, LLP

Big Lots Foundation

David Cunningham - Edward Jones

Lynn Greer

Scott Owens and Kevin Kowalski

Densil Porteous & Michael Dalton

Steve Shellabarger

Bronze sponsor

Judge Jennifer & Mr. Rick L. Brunner

John Barber & Jim Price

Bill Brownson & Myron Phillips

Budros, Ruhlin & Roe


Plymale & Dingus

Ed Chin

Omar Faruk

Bill Fenner

Gregg McConnell & Dan Smith

David Todd – Cruise Planners

Susan White & Anne Casto

Champion sponsor

Michelle Berry

Eric & Marilyn Brown

Columbus Museum of Art

Paul Feeney

Elliot Fishman & Dale Abrams

Howard Fradkin

Patrick Gallaway & Patrick Jones

Susan Gilles & Kent Markus

Ann Heffernan

Laura MacDonald

Jeffrey Mackey

Dr. Rolando Martinez, Terry Wheeler & Summer

Jack Miner & Brian Dozer

Stuart & Cindy Lazarus

Lana Moore

Molly O'Shaughnessy

Rob Podlogar & Chad Mercer

Marc Spindelman

Jaron Terry Communications, Ltd.

Jeff Smith

Kevin Terry Smith

Michael Smithson

Union Cafe + Axis

Media & Production Contributors

Jason Bradley-Krauss - Design with Heart

Ray LaVoie Photography

Glenn McEntyre